Wednesday, February 27, 2019

13 Republicans Join House Dems to Block Trump's National Emergency

AP Photo/Dario Lopez-Mills
The House voted 245-182 this evening, with 13 Republicans joining the majority Dems, to block President Trump's declaration of a national emergency to raid other appropriations for money to build a border wall.
The GOPs voting in favor of Rep. Joaquin Castro's (D-Texas) resolution of disapproval were Reps. Justin Amash (Mich.), Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Mike Gallagher (Wis.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), Will Hurd (Texas), Dusty Johnson (S.D.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.), Tom Rooney (Fla.), Jim Sensenbrenner (Wis.), Elise Stefanik (N.Y.), Fred Upton (Mich.), and Greg Walden (Ore.).
"I’m 100% in favor of President Trump’s wall, and today’s vote had nothing to do with the need to build it. For the same reason I was against President Obama using his ‘pen and phone,’ I voted to disapprove of this unilateral executive action," tweeted McMorris Rodgers.
Once in the Senate, four Republican defectors would be needed to send the bill to President Trump's desk. Sens. Susan Collins (R-Maine), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Thom Tillis (R-N.C.) have said they will vote for it.
Both chambers currently lack the majorities needed to override Trump's guaranteed veto pen.
Read the rest of the story HERE.

If you like what you see, please "Like" us on Facebook either here or here. Please follow us on Twitter here.

No comments: