Monday, January 28, 2019

Who’s Negotiating Border Security to Avoid Shutdown 2.0 ?

Photo: Jose Luis Magana/AP
All 17 members of the group appointed to work out a compromise on border-security funding are on the Appropriations Committee in either the House or the Senate. The group will be led by House Appropriations Committee Chairman Nita Lowey (D., N.Y.) and its ranks include the panel’s top Republican, Kay Granger of Texas.
Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Richard Shelby (R., Ala.) and its top Democrat, Patrick Leahy of Vermont, are also members, as are the lawmakers who run the appropriations subcommittee on Homeland Security in each chamber: Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R., W.Va.) and Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D., Calif.).
Sens. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt), left, Richard Shelby (R-AL)
Several lawmakers who have been deeply enmeshed in previous immigration negotiations were also appointed, including Sen. Dick Durbin (D., Ill.) and Rep. Pete Aguilar (D., Calif.). Sen. John Hoeven (R., N.D.) was involved in brokering a key border-security provision in a sweeping overhaul of the immigration system that passed the Senate in 2013, but fizzled in the House.
Read the rest of the story HERE.

If you like what you see, please "Like" us on Facebook either here or here. Please follow us on Twitter here.

No comments: