Friday, May 11, 2018

15 Pro-Migrant GOP Reps. Push for DACA Amnesty Vote

Eric Baradat/AFP/Getty- mages
Fifteen Republicans have quickly signed a “discharge petition” that would allow Democrats to push a no-strings amnesty for roughly 3 million ‘DACA’ illegals through the House this month.
The amnesty vote will be forced if the discharge petition is signed by 25 GOP legislators plus all Democratic legislators — providing the GOP legislators do not reverse their votes when they face pressure from the GOP’s leadership, led by outgoing House Speaker Paul Ryan.
The amnesty push is a political challenge for Rep. Kevin McCarthy, the likely replacement for Ryan.
“The goal is to empower each member of the House, including the speaker, to advance the solution that each member believes is the best one for this challenge and to try to gain supporters for that solution,” said Florida Rep. Carolus Curbelo, who faces a tough election this November. “This institution should be driven by courage, not by cowardice,” Curbelo told CNN.
Curbelo launched the petition with Texas Rep. Will Hurd and California Rep. Jeff Denham.
They were quickly backed up by Reps. David Valadao, Mario Diaz-Balart, Mia Love, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Charles Dent, Fred Upton, David Reichert, Mike Coffman, Chris Collins, John Faso, Mark Amodei, and Elise Stefanik.
Read the rest of the story HERE and follow link below to a related story:

Report: GOP Leadership Seeking to Stop Vote on DACA Amnesty

If you like what you see, please "Like" us on Facebook either here or here. Please follow us on Twitter here.

No comments: